Effective today, November 17th and until the 21st, sixteen students, from among the city’s premier high schools will immerse themselves in their new roles as the junior versions of the elected officials of the local government of General Santos, the Tuna Capital of the Philippines.

A yearly endeavor of Youth Affairs and Development Office under Elmer Cequina, this program seeks out the best and the brightest among the Tuna Capital’s highschoolers  and through a series of interviews and exams, 16 of them will be tapped as younger counterparts of the mayor, the vice mayor and the fourteen city councilors.

The assignment of posts however are determined by the students themselves who will vote among them their choices for the different positions.

For this year, elected Junior City Mayor is Hope Christian School’s Hennela Jin Kwan who also topped the exams and panel interviews.  Vice Mayor is Mindanao State University’s Charis Kay Antonio.

The rest who will assume the positions of the fourteen juniors city councilors are Romeo Martin, Jr., Lara Mae Lorenzo, John Mar Dangane, Charmane Dawn Esper and Gwenbelle Acharon (all of Notre Dame of Dadiangas University – IBED Lagao Campus); Christel Anne Chu-Santos, April Joy Ong, Ciarra King, Kycia VAnelie G. Cue and Glenn Francis Gacal (of General Santos Hope Christian School); Shareen Miranda and Quenny Guibone (of Notre Dame of General Santos); Mindanao State University‘s Katherine Anne Facelo and General Santos City High School‘s Jay Vaughnn Pelonio.

General Santos City Mayor Jun Acharon himself administered their oath taking at the City Mayor’s Conference room after giving his short pep talk.