I just received the names of the TOP 16 high school students from different schools of the city who will make up this year’s General Santos City Junior Officials.

After a series of tests including a written exam and panel of interviews, these successful students (chosen from almost a hundred) will be electing among themselves their choices of Junior Mayor, Junior Vice Mayor and 14 Junior Councilors.

An annual project of the Youth Affairs Development Office headed by Mr. Elmer Cequina, under the Gen. Santos City Mayor’s Office, this search for the best and brightest secondary school students who will be exposed to the jobs and functions of the city’s officials for a week, has produced generals who went on to become very successful in their chosen careers.

I was privileged just like last year to interview and rate this year’s batch of candidates and I must say that our young generals are getting better and better.  They are more articulate and abreast with what’s happening around them and more importantly, exude more confidence in themselves.  I wouldn’t be surprised if from among these new Gen. Santos City Junior Officials, more than a few will emerge as champions in their own fields in the future.

Here now are the GenSan Junior Officers 2012 TOP 16 (in alphabetical order):

  1. Billena, Sahira Rae Y.     –  Gen. Santos Hope Christian School
  2. Concepcion, Janine R.    –  NDDU Lagao Campus
  3. Didulo, Alvee Ann H.     –  Mindanao State University – CETD
  4. Dionisio, Aleeza Madeliene C.-  Gen. Santos Hope Christian School
  5. Gutierrez, Deanna Louise R.  –  Shalom Crest Wizard Academy
  6. Heyres, Sean Marcus V.        –  Notre Dame – Siena College of GSC
  7. Macalipay, Angelica Kate L.  –  Mindanao State University – CETD
  8. Mallillin, Jan Patrick T.          –  Notre Dame – Siena College of GSC
  9. Merced, Maria Angelita E.    –  Mindanao State University – CETD
  10. Monterde, Gabriella Lissandra –  NDDU – IBED Espina Campus
  11. Narvaisa, Angellica Princess G. –  Holy Trinity College of GSC
  12. Noval, Joshua Marvin            –  Mindanao State University – CETD
  13. Ocampo, Patricia Betinna T.  –  General Santos Hope Christian School
  14. Sarmiento, Kimberly B.         –  NDDU – IBED Espina Campus
  15. Templado, Jobercari S.         –  General Santos Hope Christian School
  16. Tosino, Karen May Kezia P.  –  Ireneo L. Santiago National High School

To all of you, congratulations and good luck with the tasks at hand!

See you at the City Hall!